MacOS 15 Features: Are The Rumours Real Or Fake?

MacOS 15 Features and Compatibility Unveiled

Apple is set to release its most-awaited software update, MacOS 15, by the fall of this year. At the Worldwide Developers Conference, Apple will release its beta version, and after the testing is over, they will release the final version later this year. It is rumoured that the new operating system can generate AI-driven Music playlists,  AI-assisted writing in Pages, AI-assisted slide deck creation in Keynote, AI code writing features in Xcode and Siri improvements, and deeper integration with Shortcuts. It sounds like a lot is coming with this new update, but is this all true, or is it just another myth?

 

In this blog, we have provided a list of features and upcoming changes to this new software update; let’s delve into it without further delay. 

When Can We Expect With The Official Release? 

It has been the tradition of Apple to release their new updates during the fall season in the USA. The official release for the MacOS is generally released right after the release of IOS; if we look at the previous 5 releases of the MacOS: macOS 14 Sonoma: September 26, 2023, macOS 13 Ventura: October 24, 2022, macOS 12 Monterey: October 25, 2021, macOS 11 Big Sur: November 12, 2020 and macOS 10.15 Catalina: October 7, 2019 it is quite evident that the release date has been within season of fall. Therefore, we can expect a new update from September to November 2024. 

MacOS 15 Compatible Devices And Possible Names 

Let’s first talk about the name MacOS 15. There is quite an uncertainty in the market regarding the naming of the new version Of MacOS; ever since Apple stopped naming their devices after cats, they have started using places in California to name its operating systems, such as macOS 14 Sonoma, macOS 13 Ventura and etc. They already trademarked several unused places, such as Condor, Mammoth, Redwood, and Sequoia, but we are not sure which they are going to use. 

 

Now, the most important question: what devices will be compatible with the new update? To be honest, we are not quite sure what devices will still be compatible with this new update however, we can say affirmatively that the last generations of intel will be compatible with this update. Below, we mentioned 5 devices that we think will be compatible:

 

  • iMac from 2019 and later
  • Mac Pro from 2019 and later
  • iMac Pro from 2017
  • Mac Studio from 2022 and later
  • MacBook Air from 2018 and later

What New Features Does MacOS 15 Have To Offer? 

Now, let's tackle the elephant in the room: what features will users likely see in the recent update? The answer might slightly disappoint you, but there is a possibility we will not witness too many updates this year. According to Bloomberg’s Mark Gurman, Apple has shifted its focus to fixing bugs and improving the device's performance. But don’t be too disappointed; the new MacOS 15 will have new features, but not as many as expected; some of those features are:

Artificial Intelligence Integration

It is quite rumoured that Apple is working hard on AI and generative AI, and a few of those features can be seen in the new update of the operating system for iPhones and Macs. However, it is expected that iOS 18 will have more features as compared to MacOS 15, which might include:

 

  • Improved Voice Recognition. 
  • AI-generated Apple Music playlists.
  • AI-assisted writing in Pages.
  • AI-assisted slide deck creation in Keynote.
  • AI code writing features in Xcode.

Accessibility And Redesigned Calculator App

The new update may include improved accessibility and new features, such as adaptive voice shortcuts, which activate accessibility features by speaking a phrase; a Live Speech enhancement that lets users create categories; and expanded support for custom fonts. Further, it is rumoured that Apple is planning to revamp its old calculator app and is planning to include history tape, revamped conversions, and a resizable window in the app features.

The Future of MacOS: Looking Ahead Of MacOS 15

We are not quite sure what Apple is planning to do with its new software update, but we are quite sure that MacOS 15 will bring in more user-friendly features with better voice recognition and AI integration. It is quite rare to get a sneak peek into the MacOS, as Apple’s software production is not dependent on any third party. However, whenever there are any such rumours, you can easily find them on our website; therefore, do follow our social media handles to stay updated with notifications. 

Frequently Asked Questions 

What is the oldest MacOS?

Mac OS X Server 1.0 is the oldest MacOS, released in 1999.

What is the best old MacOS version?

OS X 10.6 Snow Leopard, released in 2009, is the best old MacOS version.

How do I upgrade to the latest version of MacOS?

Follow the following steps to update your Mac to the latest OS:

 

  • Open the Apple menu on your Mac.
  • Choose the system setting.
  • Click the General in the sidebar of the window that opens.
  • Select software update from there. 

Can a 10-year-old Mac be updated? 

No, obsolete Macs no longer qualify for service and support. Apple generally supports its current Mac for 6.6 years or 7 years. 

Which MacOS is on the end-of-life list?

MacOS Big Sur, MacOS Catalina 10.15, and MacOS Mojave are some of the MacOS on the end-of-life list.

 

Related tags

About author


Related Posts

Some Of The Best Linux Trends That You Shouldn’t Miss

by Vipin Kumar 3 days ago

Increased privacy tools, interaction with education, green revolution, integration with ChromeOS and Chromebooks, and more are growing Linux trends.

Apple’s Deal With OpenAI To Use ChatGPT In iPhones

by Gopal Tiwari 5 days ago

The tech behemoth company Apple is nearing a deal with OpenAI to add new ChatGPT features to its upcoming phones. Read the complete news here.

14 Most Important Linux Commands You Should Know

by Jyoti Singh 7 days ago

Some important Linux commands are Alias, ls, pwd, cd, rm, history, etc. Go through the blog, find the complete list and learn all other commands now.

Microsoft Is Developing An In-House AI Model MAI-1

by Alok 11 days ago

According to the reports by The Information, Microsoft’s MAI-1 is much larger than its previously trained open-source models.

Oppo Find X7 Ultra Review: Is it Worth Your Investment?

by Shipra Prajapati 12 days ago

Oppo Find X7 Ultra Review: Oppo brings the best Android camera ever, with four rare cameras and one selfie camera in the less than Rs 1 lakh category.

Mastering Productivity: Ultimate Guide To Top Linux Apps

by Vipin Kumar 14 days ago

Linux is among the most versatile operating systems in the world, but it's useless without proper Linux apps. Read the blog to learn about a few apps.

menu
menu